The beauty of Africa: 7 natural wonders of Africa

Home to 54 countries, Africa is rich in culture and resources.  Her landscape and beauty is unmatched. We celebrate our heritage proudly in the way we dress, the food we eat and our traditions.  These seven natural wonders of Africa will leave you longing to travel to the continent right now.

1. Red See Reef

    (Source: Nature Picture Library)
  • Location: Coast of Egypt, Eritrea, and Sudan
  • Home to 1100 species of fish. 10% of these species are only found in this reef.

2. Mount Kilamanjaro

  • Location: Tanzania
  • Mount Kilamanjaro is the highest free-standing mountain in the world.
  • There are seven different peaks, with Uhuru Peak being the highest.
  • Kibo peak features a 1.5 mile wide crater

3. Serengeti Migration

  • Location: Tanzania and Kenya
  • Serengeti means “endless plains”.
  • It is the longest and largest overland migration in the world.
  • It pans 18,641.1 square miles (30,000 sq km).

4. Sahara Desert

  • Location: Algeria, Chad, Egypt, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Sudan, Tunisia, Western Sahara.
  • It is the largest hot desert in the world.
  •  The sand dunes are as high as 600 feet (180 meters)

5. Ngorongoro Crater

(Source: Shutterstock)

  • Location: Tanzania
  • It is referred to as “Africa’s Garden of Eden”.
  • It is the largest unbroken volcanic caldera in the world.
  • The crater is 12 miles (19 km) across and covers 102 square miles (264 sq km).
  • 30,000 animals including the rare black rhino call this place home.

6. The Nile River

  • Location: Ethiopia, Sudan, Egypt, Uganda, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan, Eritrea
  • It’s the longest river in the world stretching 4,132 miles (6,650 km).

7. Okavango Delta

  • Location: Botswana
  •  It is the largest inland delta in the world.
  • It is also recognised as a World Heritage Site.
  • It is flat – with less than 7 feet of variation.